My First Blog

January 12, 2007 at 7:08 am (Uncategorized)

Alright so I have to admit that I was a little nervous about this blogging business but to my surprise thanks to a little help from my computer savvy little sister I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. Honestly this class sounds like a lot of fun and that is actually the reason that I signed up for it. I didn’t even know this course existed until late Wednesday when my friend Kelly sent me a text saying that I needed to join and after seeing the syllabus I realized that there was no way I could justify not taking it. I’m really hoping that after years of obsessing with all things pop culture this passion will finally apply to something other than the countless trivia games I have dominated, I guess that I will have to wait and see.

One crucial thing that I’m hoping to get out of this class is to become more computer literate. After reading some of the other blogs that have been posted I realized just how far behind I really am. The only reason that I have heard about Nexopia (did I even spell that right?) or Facebook is because I have two little sisters who spend ridiculous amounts of time on them. I have never used MSN (I know that that sounds hard to believe but sadly it is true) and I can’t work my iTunes without a little help. Hopefully this blog will get me more interested in all things popular in the computer culture.

Finally since this class is about different forms of media I would like to throw out a couple of my favourite movies, TV shows, books and music.

Movies: I am going to have to go with some 80’s classics here The Breakfast Club and The Goonies are my all time favourites! Some more recent choices include The Departed, Donnie Darko and V for Vendetta.

Television: Now I have to admit this is probably where I spend more time than I should. The shows I just can’t miss are The Office, E.R., Grey’s Anatomy and CSI and if you watch these shows you will realize that they all air on Thursday’s so it’s safe to say that you better not bother me on Thursday night. As much as I love these shows my top three favourite T.V. shows of all time I am sad to say have been cancelled they were Arreseted Development, Alias and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. They will be missed however now that they are off the air I definately have more time to watch other T.V. shows (sad but true).

Books: Alright it’s embarrassing but you would be lying if you said you didn’t also like the series I have to say that I  like Harry Potter and I can’t wait for the next book and movie to come out, however my favourite book of all time is On Fortune’s Wheel and I also like to read romance novels. For any girls out there who love cheezy romances if you haven’t read Samantha and the Cowboy I would suggest picking it up.  

Music: I’m going to be honest I don’t usually listen to music unless I am going for a run or am in the car but a couple top picks would include Death Cab for Cutie, and Metric. And I know that this final choice isn’t music but I listen to his CD in the car all the time so I’m going to have to throw out the comedy of Dane Cook.

Alright well I guess I finished my first blog ever and I have to say that it wasn’t that bad, I actually kind of enjoyed it. 

2 Comments

  1. Matt L said,

    I was a little nervous about blogging to but you definitely got the hang of it. I am going to agree with you on the Goonies being one of the all time great movies. It was a cult classic and seems to be making a resurgence a good twenty years later. I have to comment on you listening to Dance Cook, because here is a guy that has re-invented the art of stand up comedy. His last HBO special shattered the records for the number of people to see a stand up comedian live. It was ridiculous. Some 60,000 people watching this guy. The guy is an absolute comedic genius. His DVDs and Cds are selling off of shelves at a ridiculous rate. This guy has marketed himself amazingly. He has taken stand up comedy to the next level in the media. Well those are my comments on that. I DID MY BEST. I DID MY BEST.

  2. kel said,

    Hahaha ‘Samatha and the Cowboy’??? That’s halarious! I completely understand how you feel, my younger brother is a whiz on Nexopia, Facebook, MSN, Limewire, Itunes and so many other things I’ve never even heard of!!! Seriously, until this Christmas I didn’t even know what Facebook WAS!!! I also lay claim to the TV for an entire night one day a week. Tuesday nights! Law and Order CI and SVU!!! Although I agree, Grey’s rocks (thus, my most recent blog). Anyways, you seem to have the hang og this blogging stuff……now teach me!!

Leave a Reply

