Not a Fan of Chomsky

February 28, 2007 at 2:08 pm (Uncategorized)

I really did not like Chomsky at all and because of that did not really enjoy the movie we watched last class. Maybe Chomsky is just too smart for me or maybe he just thinks he is smarter then everybody, either way I found him quite condescending.

His ideas on propaganda were somewhat interesting but other than that I was completely bored with the film! Also I just have to say that his speech on High School Football was ridiculous. People have hobbies and I think that it is great that people have a way of escaping the total chaos of the world.

If I spent all of my time contemplating  world issues like Chomsky suggests we should be doing I think I would go crazy! 

2 Comments

  1. nexusstraggler said,

    I know that ratemyprofessor.com might not be the best of intellectual judges, but one day I checked out Chomsky’s rating from his MIT students just for fun, and it was very mixed. There were a lot of people who were in awe of his genius, and a lot of others who said he was a very arrogant professor. Many were also saying that his politics didn’t belong in class, and the political views that he did bring to class, sounded more like they were to make people idolize him. On the other hand, there were many who loved him as a prof. and didn’t feel like he was being too obnoxious. I think he has some great insight, but like you said, can be a little unrealistic at times.

  2. Jennifer said,

    That’s an interesting way to look at Chomsky. I would have to agree that he seemed somewhat condescending. I mean, how many people out there engage in tasks that have no educational basis, and just do them for ‘fun’ (OMG do something just for fun!). I agree with you and also think that today (especially) with everyone’s hectic lives and the ever increasing stress people are dealing with, that participating in or watching etc… some thing just for the fun of it is not a bad thing. Nor should it be judged (yes, it should be studied… but not judged… a fine line I know). Besides, I am sure Chomsky too participated in something mindless just for the fun of it.

Leave a comment